Tuesday, January 17, 2012

TOGAF for absolute beginners


TOGAF is an aid which assist in the field of Enterprise Architecture. It provides guidelines, templates, models, framework, tools, methods, processes, etc which cover the entire lifecycle for Enterprise Architecture, right from setting up EA practice or function within an organization to creating and maintaining Enterprise Architectures.

Lets start with some facts:

  • TOGAF - The Open Group Architecture Framework
  • TOGAF, an Open Group Standard, is a proven enterprise architecture methodology and framework.
  • The most recent version is TOGAF 9.1 which was first published in December 2011.
  • First developed in 1995, TOGAF was based on the US Department of Defense Technical Architecture Framework for Information Management (TAFIM)

TOGAF 9.1 can be used for developing a broad range of different enterprise architectures. TOGAF complements, and can be used in conjunction with, other frameworks that are more focused on specific deliverables for particular vertical sectors such as Government, Telecommunications, Manufacturing, Defense, and Finance.

TOGAF assists in creating all four major parts of any Enterprise Architecture:

  1. Business Architecture
  2. Data or Information Architecture
  3. Application Architecture
  4. Technology Architecture

Overall TOGAF documentation is divided into 6 parts which also indicate the ways it helps as shown in above figure:

  1. Architecture Capability : Guides on how to setup EA practice or function within an organization and its roles & responsibilities.
  2. Architecture Development Method (ADM) : This is a core part of TOGAF and provides a step-by-step approach to developing and enterprise architecture.
  3. Guidelines & Techniques : Helps in adapting and customizing ADM based on needs.
  4. Reference Models : provides two architectural reference models, namely the TOGAF Technical Reference Model (TRM), and the Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model (III-RM) as foundation.
  5. Enterprise Continuum & Tools : discusses appropriate taxonomies and tools to categorize and store the outputs of architecture activity within an enterprise. The Enterprise Continuum provides a view of the Architecture Repository that shows the evolution of these related architectures from generic to specific, from abstract to concrete, and from logical to physical.
  6. Architecture Content Framework : describes the TOGAF content framework, including a structured metamodel for architectural artifacts, the use of re-usable Architecture Building Blocks (ABBs), and an overview of typical architecture deliverables.

No comments: